Sunday, September 25, 2011

Japan Street Fashion

I have this ongoing board on Pinterest of pictures of random people and their daily outfits in Japan. Some of them are cute, others are more on the eccentric side, and then there are ones that are just...
awesome. Which is really the best adjective for it.

What I love about Japanese fashion is that there seems to be no rules, and it doesn't get any better than that does it? You can use just about anything and everything to create your own style, and there is no judging on the weirdness of it.

Here are some photo examples:




(not really sure what this guy was going for, but bonus points for being awesome!)

I would wear my unicorn-inspired clothes there every day!

xo
-B




Friday, September 23, 2011

That thing called a project when you throw random stuff together to make it look cool.

I'm just laughing at that title post right now. It definitely wins an award for being the longest, most unnecessary title ever.

But I just wanted to share some fun D.I.Y. projects that I found (on Pinterest, of course). I haven't actually done any of them  (cue scoffing and exiting out of this web page), but I thought they all had the potential of me actually, maybe doing it, so that was good enough for me!





(If you haven't figured it out already, you can just click on the description and it will take you to the original source that explains everything.)

-B

Thursday, September 22, 2011

(awkward silence)


Hi.

*cough*


I don't really have much to write about, but can I just say that learning a new language all on your own, with no one to hold you accountable for studying and practicing, is really really hard?
Like, really hard. Have you tried it?
About a year ago I decided to study Japanese, and since then I feel like I really haven't made much progress. I've found myself taking longer and longer breaks in between studying, and I'm afraid I'll just eventually forget everything.
I suppose I just need to be patient, and keep practicing. And studying.

Although, I think tonight I will attempt to learn the language by osmosis. I'm pretty sure it's a legit technique.
So I'll get back to you on that.

Meanwhile, I wanted to share this video of a Japanese music group called World Order. They are SO talented, especially in the dancing department, and I think this video is proof enough of their incredible skills. (The song is called "Machine Civilization")

xo
-B

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Sweater time.

(I feel like this photo pretty much sums up the season.)


Finally, it's starting to feel like Fall. I actually wore tights under my skirt to work the other day and I was so excited! (It's the little things, right?) I know it seems like all I do is write a few sentences and then add about twenty billion pictures, but I haven't been doing much writing (besides that one project...we'll talk about it later though. Maybe.) and so I feel like I have nothing else to share.
What's wrong with a few pictures though? Nothing, I say. I think they're fun.
So, with that being said, I leave you with seven (only seven, okay? Sheesh.) Fall-inspired pictures!
(Super cute sweater. It belongs in my closet.)

(Boots and socks!)

(Huge scarves!)

(SWEATERS. Lovely, lovely sweaters...)


(Candy!)

(Socks!)



(This thing!)


See, wasn't that fun?
xo -B

*again, photos via Pinterest. Stop asking.




Friday, September 16, 2011

I'm just gonna sit here and talk to myself...is that cool?


So, most of my life I shared a room with my older sister, and many (MANY) times when I was bored, or maybe trying really hard to study/memorize something (mostly just when I was bored), I would just sit there and talk to myself.
It drove her NUTS, which I never understood. I mean, it's not like she actually had to pay attention and follow along right?
So anyways, I was just thinking about that and how writing on this blog kinda feels very similar to that.
It's like I'm talking to myself, but this time just in my head.
Let me know when I start sounding really crazy, m'kay?

That's all.

Oh, wait--also there's this:
You guys think this would work?

-B

*all images, always, via pinterest unless otherwise stated. Just fyi.

Thursday, September 15, 2011

That's intense! Like literally, in tents...

Going to be doing a little of this this weekend:
It's going to quite the interesting campout. 
And cold. It's going to be quite the cold campout too.

I had a friend who used to say this all the time, and it always made me laugh.
EVERY time...it just never gets hold. haha.

Here's to being in-tents!
xo -B
*images via pinterest, as usual.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Hayao Miyazaki


Let's talk about this great man.
Hayao Miyazaki is one of my favorite directors and animators. Out of his work, some of my favorites include: My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle, and Ponyo. If you've never seen any of these, I highly encourage you to do so. They are amazing. 
(Scene from Spirited Away.)
I pretty much grew up watching random Japanese television shows, among them the Sailor Moon anime series, as well as My Neighbor Totoro. 
Yes, there was a lot of Totoro-watching going on in my house, now that I think about it.

Miyazaki's wonderful animation and drawings, and also the inspiring story lines, are what have made him such a success. Many of his films incorporate the difficult relationships between humanity, nature, and technology, while giving it a magical twist that makes them so appealing to young kids. 
Or the young at heart. Whichever suits you best. 
I can't wait until the day when I can just sit and watch one of his films (in Japanese, of course), and understand it without even having to think about it, but until then I'll just settle for subtitles. 
Good ole' subtitles...what would I do without them? 

xo. -B